Dreamers are everywhere…I hope

photo credit: schaaflicht via photopin cc

photo credit: schaaflicht via photopin cc

One of my favorite things to do is watch people. As an artist, I find it endlessly fascinating all the refined and rough details about people around me. The creases around their eyes – from worry or laughter? The shape of their fingers, the strength in their forearms, the way they walk, how they carry themselves. Everyone to me is a story waiting to be written.

Recently, what I’ve noticed is the craving in others’ eyes for more. Not the more that’s traditionally known in our society of more money, more luxury, etc. Maybe because it’s what I’m feeling, too. But, I see highly intelligent, hard-working individuals, hulled up in a work space – conversing, interacting, emailing, IMing, etc. But, when I look in their eyes their hearts are not in it. The hunger for more heart.

So, I turn the conversation to something like: “If you’re always afraid to be wrong, you’ll never come up with anything original.” There it is – that glint. It’s the spark of touching on a heartfelt place, rather than the drone-like, SOP driven technical space we live and work in because let’s face it, it pays the bills!

Hooray! I love my bills being paid! I love having amazing benefits. I know I AM FORTUNATE.

I see people get quiet, think for a minute, and answer with the atypical corporate response. And, it’s like a breath of fresh air to me!

I call it the human factor. In a world of policies, processes and what’s-the-fastest-most-efficient-way-to-do-this…the dreamer in me craves taking my time, really getting lost in the creative brainstorm, trying a technique just to see how I like it. Having the time to start over. Wishing my coffee talks with my colleagues where we drill out these ideas we have, ways to achieve new things, how to accomplish what we are not doing that needs to feed our souls – wishing those were deemed as important as our regular meetings to review what we’re doing wrong and how to make it better.

Yet, it’s still in all of us to be a bit of a dreamer. At least, I’d like to think so. Maybe I feel less lonely if this is true.

large_6894576799photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/tweedledeedesigns/6894576799/”>Cut To Pieces</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a> <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>cc</a>

One Comment

  1. Melissa Yes Yes yes.
    We all feel this way sometimes. And our dreams and taking time to explore and expand them fills our hearts because that desire is from our creator Himself. He had the same desire and created us and the wonderful world around us to fulfilled the dreamer in Him.. We are truely created in His image right down to our hearts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

